Safe Quality Food (SQF) Certification

GFSI-Level Food Safety Management System

Bernadette Goldstein   |  
+1 510.963.1212   |  

Provide globally recognized food safety assurance to your customers through SQF certification. Producers, manufacturers, processors, and retailers can all participate this world-class, GFSI benchmarked certification. Demonstrate the rigor of your HACCP-based food safety plan under the current SQF Food Safety Code, or go one step by meeting the additional quality management system requirements of the Quality Code.

Companies of all sizes, from small and medium-sized operators to international companies, have chosen SCS as their certifier of choice. With over 30 years of HACCP food safety management and auditing experience, SCS Global Services provides expert SQF certification services. Moreover, we offer a wide range of food industry certifications, and can help you earn recognition in multiple categories from safety to sustainability.

  • Program Details
  • Process
  • Benefits
  • Training
  • FAQs
  • Program Documents

SQF is designed for use by all sectors of the food industry, from primary production, manufacturing, and processing to transport, storage, distribution and retailing. The current standard applies to all industry sectors. Go to

Certification Criteria

SQF is a HACCP-based standard for control of food quality and food safety. The scope of SQF certification is site- and product-specific. Compliance with the following mandatory system elements is required for certification: management commitment, document control and records, specification and product development, food safety fundamentals and plans, SQF system verification, product identification, trace, withdrawal and recall, food defense, identity preserved foods, and training.

Certification Levels

SCS can help you pursue the appropriate level of SQF certification. GFSI recognizes Food Safety Code and Quality Code certificates:

  • Food Safety Fundamentals: Entry level for new and developing businesses covering only GAP/GMP/GDP requirements and basic food safety elements.
  • Food Safety Code: Recognizes suppliers that have implemented a HACCP food safety plan in addition to meeting fundamental requirements.
  • Quality Code: Recognizes suppliers that have implemented a HACCP-based food quality plan in addition to food safety code system elements.

Audits are required every 6-12 months to maintain certification; frequency is based on the audit score rating.


SCS can walk you through a pre-assessment process. Pre-assessment is a non-scored mock audit designed to assess the level of your preparedness for a certification audit. Ask about combining a pre-assessment with your initial audit for greater efficiency.

Apply Now

Ready to start the process? Complete an Application.

Related Resources

Click to learn more or download resources related to this service

This interactive webinar provides an overview of the updates and changes to the new SQF standard and helps prepare you…
Understand the SQF Certification process